Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

The Shikigami of Life Excerpt

Shikigami (式神) are a kind of spirit, found in Japanese Mythology summoned to serve a practitioner of onmyōdō, much like a western familiar. Shikigami cannot be seen by most people, but according to the Heian period onmyōji who were said to control them, shikigami often looked something like a child-sized oni demon. Although invisible, shikigami supposedly could, at the onmyōji’s command, take a variety of human or animal forms, possess or bewitch people, and even cause bodily harm or death. (from Wikipedia [link]).

I am not completely sure where the whole idea for Life came from. I think the yakuza idea was hanging out in my brain since I read 絆 KIZUNA~恋のから騒ぎ~ (Kizuna: Koi no Kara Sawagi / Kizuna: Bonds of Love [link]). Even if they’re not the main focus, the relationship between Masa and Kai is… interesting XD. I do know that the main spark came from a fanfic I wrote, my brain wrapping itself around the backstory of the unimportant supporting characters, which were only there to… make that one fic rounder. And then the ball started rolling. Life was the longest story I wrote in one go, ever XD At that time it was not even supposed to be a series either… Oh, and about why “Shikigami” of all things… I can’t tell for the life of me… and I cannot even blame it on an Okonogi, since none of them were planned at this stage!

Title: The Shikigami of Life, Osaka Guardians, Book 1

Synopsis: Any fool can tell the truth, but it requires a man of some sense to know how to lie well (Samuel Butler). Ohmura Naoe is a man of sense, a yakuza in a yakuza building. He lives the biggest of all lies: Raised and trained by the Osaka Shikigami, he was sent to Tokyo to undermine the Sun Alliance’s foundations, and not even death is going to stop him.

Written: NaNoWriMo 2009

Draft 0 Length: 63507 words

Available: Prologue and Chapter 1

Comments are closed.