Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Procrastination post a.k.a. My Characters Hijacked My Food

[Note: This was written last night but only posted now due to lack of internet at the new flat]

Okay, so I am procrastinating from NaNo, but I can afford it, I’m about to hit 12k. Today I had to take half a day off for immigration paperwork, after having moved countries and all. I had to go to the main town around here, which is rather bigger and more international that the little village in the middle of nowhere in which I currently live.

Back on track, I had to do my immigration interview to prove that I am me – well, my non-writer persona anyway, and I decided to have some Japanese food afterwards, because I’m worth it, and there is this cool geeky Japanese bar I like, because it’s cheap and because the food is reasonably good and because they got katsukare and I wanted katsukare.

After having a look at the menu, because the waiter was a bit busy and I was not going to continue typing on the phone as I had on the train, I ordered miso soup (Sorry for the low-quality pictures, taken with my cell in bad light):

Gyôza:

And yakitori:

Neither of which, as you’ll notice, is katsukaere

Only when I backtracked for a second, I realized that one of my characters had hijacked my food. Okonogi Hisaki, a.k.a. Senior, a.k.a. Okonogi Kazuki’s father. Here I leave you two excerpts of The Shikigami of Night and of The Shikigami of Power so you understand what I mean (both are draft-stage, but still readable, I hope).

*shakes head* Okonogis. They are everywhere. Now back to writing… another Okonogi XD

7 responses to “Procrastination post a.k.a. My Characters Hijacked My Food

  1. Alexis November 4, 2011 at 11:01

    I want all your foods!! Or a similar restaurant around here…something like that.

    ❤ Alexis

  2. Denise November 4, 2011 at 11:16

    Did smiling at the waiter work for you, too?

  3. Celeste November 4, 2011 at 11:18

    One of my characters (also for NaNo) cooked up a storm. Afterwards I had am impulse to have one of the things she had made, but couldn’t find it anywhere near by! I still have the craving….
    Great post! Good luck with getting back to writing – I’m on 10 thousand, so not too far behind you!

    • Sakaki Delijah November 4, 2011 at 13:40

      XDD you see, the problem here is that Okonogi Hisaki is the father of my current MFC… and he was killed off two books ago, so this was totally unexpected XDD