Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Ngram Search: “Calligrapher”

Calligraphy: Fancy penmanship, especially highly decorative handwriting, as with a great many flourishes [link]. But how do you call a person who practices the art of Calligraphy? I started Ngram-ing again (note that the first graph is not smoothed while the other two are).


(Click for bigger and details)
Source: Google Ngram Viewer [link]


(Click for bigger and details)
Source: Google Ngram Viewer [link]


(Click for bigger and details)
Source: Google Ngram Viewer [link]

So after much search and replace, my Victim #14 serial killer is The Calligrapher *accomplished sigh* (This all started, by the way, because I keep typing “Caligrapher” instead of “Calligrapher” and my spell check did not like any of them, thus the LL/L search. Then I came across “Calligraphist” and banged my head against a wall, did a search/replace, then undid it and now I am happy.

Yes, this post was completely pointless. You may go complain in the comments for wasting your time.

3 responses to “Ngram Search: “Calligrapher”

  1. Denise April 9, 2012 at 02:27

    Here is the real question: What caused the spike around 1995???