Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

The Generation H

Let me start by saying: I read the two first books and they bored me to death. Thus I did not read the rest. I’m talking about Harry Potter. I don’t consider myself an antifan, just someone who disliked and ignored – and for the ones who know about me and fads, I read before the boom XP.

So I did not like Harry Potter, but a bunch of other people out there did. Let me touch the story briefly in case you have been living under a rock for the last 15 years. (if some people don’t know Angry Birds I expect anything XD). Harry is a modern day Cinderella Boy. He was orphaned when young and lives with his abusive extended family. Suddenly one day he gets a visit and discovers that he is a wizard. Thus he is kinda scooped into a magic school where he meets his best friends forever Hermione and Ron. Then they save the school and the world a few times from super mean evil dark mage who was responsible of the death of Harry’s Parents and whom Harry already defeated when he was a baby – I wonder how many Mary Sue points that gives…

So what’s the Generation H and what’s special about them? Generation H is something I made up for this post, it refers to a range of then children who started reading the books when they were about Harry and his friends’ ages. These kids who grew up with them, with their same age and mentality and who ran into the same kind of everyday trouble – sans evil Mage. The kids who could empathise with the characters on every damn book.

Kids who queued at midnight in front of book stores to buy their copy of the book the day it was out. Kids who, even if their first language was not English, got the books in English to have them earlier. Kids who read. And I think that is amazing. I might not like the books, but the magic of Harry Potter lies in the fact that J.K. Rowling made the miracle: she got kids reading. There is, in my opinion, a before and after Harry Potter in the reading mentality.

Let’s see Jurassic Park as an example. Blockbuster movie among blockbuster movies at the time. It spawned a franchise of movies, toys, more toys, roaring T-rexes in miniature and lots of other neat thingies with the logo (by the way, you can hear about the story of the TED Talk at the end of the post. Damn I love that guy XD). You know what didn’t you see? People around the public transport with the book in their hands.

The book sales went up, of course, that’s why Michael Crichton wrote the sequel, which gave way to another movie and so on and do forth. Not that I am complaining about it at all (long live Ian Malcom, in more ways than one).

Back in time The Name of the Rose movie was a blast. The book? What book? Did you even know that Stargate (the original movie, not the later SG universe) had a novel? Pretty awesome book, by the way. It has a few continuity errors but I highly recommend it. Most everybody and their dogs seems to have watched The Princess Bride, right? Wait, you mean it is an actual book?? (review by Denise here [link]).

Let’s, however, have a look at the latest motion picture / book phenomena: Game of Thrones, Twilight, The Hunger Games. There is a different attitude about them. You see them on planes, on trains, on buses. You see people reading. Even ‘older’ books have found their place again: Lord of the Rings / The Hobbit, The Chronicles of Narnia, Where monsters live.

Something happened that changed the attitude of readers between these two time frames, and that was the fact that suddenly J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter, and she did he unthinkable. She made kids read. She made reading cool. And se keeps Doing it whenever a preteen gets the first Harry Potter book and they want the next along with watching the movies.

And hey, I don’t like Harry Potter, but I, from my Pre-Harry-Potter-reading-is-for-nerds nerdiness, think that is awesome. So may the Generation H live long and prosper ^^

Chip Kidd: Designing books is no laughing matter. OK, it is.

Note 1: everything stated in this post is pure opinion, not backed up by anyone and solely product of my musings and observations.

Note 2: I enjoyed The Name of The Rose movie much more than I liked the book, but that might have had something to do with Sean Connery XD

4 responses to “The Generation H

  1. Denise May 27, 2012 at 02:39

    Some people read before HP already! Other than that… You described me pretty well.

    • Sakaki Delijah May 27, 2012 at 19:22

      Yeah, but it was not cool! XDD

      • Denise May 28, 2012 at 07:18

        You talk to someone who lived across from a library and while she could go daily…. always took home up to the max amount she could. Aka 14 books…. and yes, started in the days that each book had a grand total of one sentence on them ^^;;;

        • Sakaki Delijah May 28, 2012 at 10:43

          14?? I was obviously born in the wrong country!!
          But then again I don’t think my circle counts as your regular average pre-teen ne, considering the developed interests and hobbies