Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Eight weeks to NaNo’12

It’s September 1st, which means NaNoWriMo is just a couple of months away, and to be completely honest I am not looking forward to it at all. Then again, is not like at the moment I am looking forward to anything in my life. That is not important now though (or well, it is, but I don’t want to talk about that XD).

For the last three years NaNo has been Shikigami territory. It started with The Shikigami of Life in 2009 after all, and somehow I wrote The Shikigami of Chance in 2010 and The Shikigami of Trust in 2011. However, even if this year should be The Shikigami of Blood year… my motivation for it is below zero. I have actually been considering not doing NaNo in 2012, but since I usually have fun doing it, I don’t think is a good idea to deny myself something I enjoy,

I am nonetheless quite seriously thinking about working on something different from The Shikigami of Blood. Upside from it would be having more time to review the previous books and expand my research to fix a few Koreans in the room [link] and reorganise Life and The Shikigami of Night with the corresponding bits from The Shikigami of Power so the latter’s structure is not so weird. To be honest, I think part of Chance could do with some spicing up too, maybe adding up to the time in Osaka. I also have realised that I need more Kyuuwa and Junzo interaction somewhere.

Back to topic. While it has been a bit of a ‘given’ that I was going to work on Blood this NaNo, I have oftentimes caught myself considering other projects for November, which tells me something. My last idea was writing Hyakki Yagyō, but I somehow… ended up doing it this summer. I am at the moment wrapped in a strange but fun still-nameless project. Blood is the logical choice, a universe I’m comfortable in and something I have a rough idea about, but…

But.

There is that but, and the fact is that I don’t think Blood is ready to be written yet. I think that I am not ready to write Blood.

NaNo is to fool around, to experiment, to be silly and chunk out crazy amount of words each day. I think I want to do something different this NaNo, and leave Blood for later, when I feel it is the right time for it.

Which… makes me ask myself a question.

What the hell do I write this NaNo?

Answer… To be determined ^^

2 responses to “Eight weeks to NaNo’12

  1. Alexis September 2, 2012 at 07:30

    I saw bunny and thought you must be about to say you write bunny’s book, but no ^^;; Good luck with whatever you decide!! *cheers on*