Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

An Evening with Ray Bradbury (2001)


 

Ray Douglas Bradbury (August 22, 1920 – June 5, 2012) was an American fantasy, science fiction, horror and mystery fiction writer. Best known for his dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451 (1953) and for the science fiction and horror stories gathered together as The Martian Chronicles (1950) and The Illustrated Man (1951)

Wikipedia

I found this doing some link-jumping. You can agree more or less with him, but I loved quite a few of his points. These are the top ones, just because:

  • Fire friends who don’t believe in you “any one who does not have faith in you and your future… to hell with them”
  • Have fun writing! Writing is not a serious business よ
  • It is good to admire other writers, but don’t try to be them
  • Don’t think commercially, write for yourself

Good talk is good. Enjoy it if you can spare the hour’s time.

2 responses to “An Evening with Ray Bradbury (2001)

  1. Denise October 12, 2012 at 14:05

    Okay, you’ll get a split comment on this as I watch, stop, restart XD At the moment I am ten minutes in and I am not sure I agree with the whole short story business. Please do prove me wrong, but I cannot remember a single short story I ever read that really engaged me, got me thinking, or that I loved for other pointless reasons.
    The other point so far was: read a lot and read differing stuff. That i agree with full-heartedly and while we could argue whether all modern stuff is crap, I do think I need to broaden my reading in general. But there is Pratchetts and Ffordes and such out there I have not read yet!! So much to read so little time!

    ~tbc~