Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

NaNoWriMo 2012: Before and After. Part 1: Before

I haven’t written much in the last six weeks. I am not sure whether that is a reflection of my mood, or if my mood is a consequence of that. There’s NaNo’12 coming up, yes, but try as I might I am not feeling the least bit excited over it.

If you have been paying any attention to the blog, you might have realised that I am working on a new yakuza story. It is my third and for now seems final choice for NaNo. The title is Axis 95/11, and for now
I’m sticking to the original synopsis I started working from:

January 2011. Yamagawa-gumi’s Hiroyuki Sen is getting out of jail after serving two years for firearm and drug possession. He has no trouble integrating himself back into the gang’s lifestyle – it’s almost as if he had never left. Hiroyuki does not believe in the old yakuza codes, he is a criminal and he knows it. Then March 11 arrives, and it is January’95 all over again…

This however is just a small part of the plot. The idea is to build a yakuza universe substantially darker than Osaka Guardians. Want or not, the Shikigami yakuza are a bit on the romantised side, knight in shining armour kind of ploy. Axis 95/11 aims to present less rightful characters that at some points find themselves thrown into a situation where they do good.
Yakuza have been among the first responders for both the Great Hanshin (1995) and the Great Tohoku (2011) Earthquakes, but they are not ‘good guys’ by definition, and the characters and their relationships aim to illustrate that. This is so not a politically-correct story… Never mind the unpleasant trigger, I don’t think the characters will be too likeable. In the end the earthquake factor becomes almost anecdotal, a hiccup in the daily life of the characters.

Outside-wise… motivation is null, excitement as mentioned is MIA and I have mixed feelings about the story. I don’t even know if I should even do NaNo this year, what’s the point? Extra stress? I am hoping it does not come to that and I can just enjoy it in the end as I have done other times.

I don’t know. Will writing make me better or just stress me out more? I got absolutely no clue…

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2012: Before and After. Part 1: Before

  1. Alexis October 18, 2012 at 16:49

    I give hugs! Those are stress free!!

    I liked your romanticized yakuza so much, I dunno if I would like this more realistic one too. But it does sound like it could be interesting. If it is not fun, hopefully you can drop it without guilt. You have won Nano many times now!

    • Sakaki Delijah October 19, 2012 at 16:16

      Yay hugs! Thank you ♥

      Yeah, this is going to be darker and… generally more unfriendly (Although the Okonogi all think they can take whichever Kobe guy gets in their way XD”). I’m not sure how it’ll come out, but I’ll give it a try

  2. limebirdwriters October 18, 2012 at 18:07

    Good luck for NaNo! 🙂 Beth