Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

“From Historical to Fictional”

The title is borrowed from the all-awesome Errol Elmuir, as sung in this parody-song:




For a couple of weeks now I’ve been working on something that has been gathering dust in one of my notebooks for a while. The problem with it, as mentioned in this post, is that the basis of it is flawed – it actually involves a samurai power struggle and actually one of them willing to go against his lord. Which… yeah, presents a problem.

I wanted to try something different this time, so I picked up a bunch of samurai books and movies I had on the to-read and to-watch pile and used them as inspiration. I’ve started reading The Courtesan and the Samurai and I got The dusk of of the samurai for after that, and I’ve been doing movie sessions with Hara-kiri, death of a samurai, Gohatto and Ran,as well as a couple of Japanese dramas like Byakkotai. But you see, among the stuff Im watching, I’ve found Dororo and Satomi Hakkenden, which also deal with fantasy elements.

Thus, I am toying with the idea that since my story has a base problem anyway, it might be improved with sprinkling it with some fantasy elements anyway. What I wonder is if chapter 4 is not too late to introduce fantasy elements after presenting something sort of historical until then.

For now, the story is following the original outline, but I am going to reduce the original main cast from four to three. The fourth character, whose plan sounded endearing, is just a coward in the end, and I have decided he does not deserve the attention. That leaves me with a soon-to-go-rogue samurai who has an unlikely friendship with a healer, and a pleasure girl who won’t speak and holds a secret, whom the healer loves to hate. And it should be winter, but it’s summer, so in the end it’s the same thing but completely different, or so it would seem XD


On another topic, WP tells me it’s Writingechoes’ second birthday. Since it took so much effort to send me a message about it I thought I would mention it XD

8 responses to ““From Historical to Fictional”

  1. Denise February 24, 2013 at 03:26

    If fantasy elements are rare in the world I guess it is not late at all. Just don’t make them too common for that to work?

  2. Alexis February 24, 2013 at 20:25

    Sounds interesting! Good luck!