Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Yo! I heard you don’t like physics

Tough luck, I do. It has caused me some trouble in recent times, but there is something that I can’t stand and it’s people making up laws of physics – and I’m not even talking about sci-fi, I’m talking in real life, in an actual classroom. An elegant “I don’t know” is much better than bluffing your way out… especially if you have someone who can call your bluff.

So you will have to excuse me, but I like physics, and I know a thing or two about the dynamics of fluids, and how a wave works- that includes both tsunami and wind-waves. I’m not the hugest expert ever, of course not, but I know a few things.

\frac{\partial\rho}{\partial t} + \frac{\partial(\rho u_x)}{\partial x} + \frac{\partial(\rho u_y)}{\partial y} +\frac{\partial(\rho u_z)}{\partial z} = 0

I have been surprised about the amount of misconceptions and problems that I’ve heard about physics in general and fluid dynamics in particular. Of course not everybody goes around talking about Navier Stokes equation XD

I’m going to try a little experiment though, and write about what I know. A town I know, about a topic I know. Might come up as a novel, might end up as a short story, but there will be science, and waves and physics. It will probably come up boring as hell, but hey, maybe not.

Kumo is a computer expert hired to investigate the archaeological and geological records of the tsunami caused by the 1755 Great Lisbon Earthquake in southwest Spain as part of a bigger crew. Their clients believe that some kind of barrier or gate, built by the ancient Phoenicians that inhabited the area centuries before that, could have stopped the tsunami – a system of catacombs may exist under the Cádiz Bay, and it might just be hiding a treasure or two…

2 responses to “Yo! I heard you don’t like physics

  1. Alexis April 23, 2013 at 07:08

    I still find it impressive as hell all the science stuff you know. And it is good you do not let anyone intimidate you into not speaking up when they’re being dumb about something you’re passionate about.

    • Sakaki Delijah April 23, 2013 at 20:34

      Well, I am not a Nobel Prize but I’ve studied a lot of fluid dynamics and geophysics, and I know a bit about it… There are many things I don’t know and I am sure that there are things she knows about, but this was not one of them XD