Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

The Gadir Gates Ending Report

I started toying with The Gadir Gates idea as a possible Adventure Writer’s Competition (the one I wrote Retriever for two years ago). Even if the results were pretty good for a first-time, there’s still a little bit of “…” feeling, because I am not completely sure of how fair it was – the scoring marks would have placed me among the finalists, but they did not, and that smells a bit weird to me. I learnt later that the panel is openly Christian, and probably the underlying UST that I had sprinkled Retriever with probably did not help the cause.

When I first came up with the setting for The Gadir Gates I had a few things in mind: mixing the story with oceanography, talking about an area that I knew, about an event I knew, and making it Christian-friendly.

Then the big block came, and I lost a lot of my interest in writing, so I kind of gave up on the story. A few months later I entered in a discussion about the laws of physics and tsunami wave propagation, and I thought “You know what would be cool? Writing an educative story about this.”

Thus, I decided to do it. I had finished Blood Moon (… I haven’t written about Blood Moon yet, have I?), so I moved onto this new old project. I thought that I would start writing, keeping the Adventure Writer’s Competition in mind, and see where the story led me.

I have learnt a few things since then XD. The first one, I am not good at writing religious people. The second, I totally kill the pace when trying to be educating. The third, I can still have fun writing. That was a plus.

The main character of the story is “Kumo” (= Spider), a Japanese computer technician who sells his services to search and retrieve companies looking for underwater treasures. Kumo accepts a job in Spain, searching for a legendary set of gates that protected the town of Cádiz from a tsunami in 1755.

He makes friends with a North-American diver nicknamed Strife and their Spanish liaison, Miss Angela. The three of them start searching for an alternative to these gates in their free time, not even knowing if it exists. For them, it is a past-time until, of course, they run into trouble.

In the end the story might be little adventure-ish and does not reach the novel category at 25,900 words. I don’t think it has more to tell, so I can’t make it a novel to enter the competition this year, but I had fun with it, which at this point I think might be even more important.

Comments are closed.