Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

R.I.P. Tom Clancy

The The Hunt for Red October has long been one of my favourite films, might be because of that awesome Sean Connery as Marko Ramius, or even because Alec Baldwin makes Jack Ryan feel like an adorable dork. I remember though stumbling across the book in my parents’ bookcase and devouring it over a weekend. I enjoyed it a lot, but I really never got my hands on the original version, which I shall do sooner or later.

Tom Clancy, the author of The Hunt for Red October died yesterday October 1st. He wrote other pieces like Patriot Games, Clear and Present Danger, and The Sum of All Fears. However, he also penned this (said, actually, but I don’t have a recording. (Credits: AMC Blog)

You learn to write the same way you learn to play golf. You do it, and keep doing it until you get it right. A lot of people think something mystical happens to you, that maybe the muse kisses you on the ear. But writing isn’t divinely inspired – it’s hard work

And who am I to disagree?

Comments are closed.