Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

NaNoWriMo 2013 (1): Somewhere in-between

nano13-during It’s November again and even if I skipped the prep post, yes I am doing NaNoWriMo. This time, apparently, all the bacteria in the world seem to be tagging along. A very bad sinusitis (diagnosis #4) has left me with coughing, fever, headaches, face-aches, chest-aches and I will not go into the state of my nose nor the amount of tissues involved in my daily routine at the moment (as I write these lines I’ve fished out the last tissue on a pack of 100). I am in general feeling rather miserable. The first few days of NaNo when only coughing was involved went very, very well. Lately however, it’s hard to even concentrate on the screen, so productivity has plummeted down. I’m rather fed up with the situation and the illness, considering that I have been ill for seven weeks now.

Sinusitis aside, this year I am working on the final book of the Osaka Shikigami, The Shikigami of Blood. Take “final” with a grain of salt, though, as this will mean that at least one third of The Shikigami of Life will need rewriting for point-of-view consistency and continuity. When I started writing Life, I would have never expected it to become a series. The Shikigami of Blood wraps up the whole global look at the Osaka Shikigami gang, at least that is the idea I am working on.

Many things have changed, but probably the character of Shirota has been the greatest change. From a ‘token’ female that aimed to be a strong character to an actual strong female character. I should not be surprised though considering the transformation Okonogi Azusa from The Shikigami of Trust underwent. She has changed in the basics, my view on her – and accordingly, her views on the world – have switched, and her story has changed accordingly.

That being said, I have to mention that I am aware that the Osaka Shikigami universe is a very romanticised view on the yakuza. I think that Axis 95/11 is a more accurate, less idealised portrayal. If I were to just have to choose an adjective, I would say that it is much more brutal.

I enjoy the Osaka Shikigami verse though, although it drives me crazy sometimes too. It is like a puzzle to put together, and all in all is just one big story taken together into six volumes. I also have to say that I am very happy that Shirota turned out to be female in the end, but even when Blood is written, the story will be far from being done.

Let’s see what the future brings…

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2013 (1): Somewhere in-between

  1. Denise November 17, 2013 at 13:03

    I thought you consciously reduced writing after you hit 50k on November 6?
    And be careful calling it last, the moment you think it’s over the next plotbunny will bite; and it’s not just me cheering on characters.

  2. Alexis November 18, 2013 at 01:26

    Oooooooh, your Shikigami!!! I love them forever! Also, I say feel better soon again! Eventually your body will listen!