Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

NaNoWriMo 2014: Houritsu

Participant-2014-Twitter-ProfileFor this NaNo 2014 I had the idea of doing something a bit crazy. As my average week, as Efficient Times mentioned, I don’t have much time through the week, so… considering that I had a two-day weekend, would I be crazy enough to… do NaNoWrimo in 48 hours? It was impossible, right?

The first thing I did was set up a plan on how many hours of sleep I needed in the 48 hours, cooking and eating time, and divided 50,000 words between the remaining hours. The number was short of 1600 words per hour. And that I had done before. Now I only needed to do it 32 times. In a row.

I had an Xmind scheme, four pages of squiggled plot, unlimited supply of snacks, coke, sweets and choc (no trick or treaters. Their loss)

The final scheme is not as neat as my original idea but… somehow it worked out and as an additional surprise, the plot is also finished within the amount of words written.

Now, I am not saying that Houritsu is a masterpiece, but it is written. It is an old plot that I had had running through my head for a while and that is finally black on white. And I think that with a lot of revision can be good. And probably that is the spirit of NaNo.

nano_14_table_2nd

nano_14_1stWE_hWC

Wordcount per hour

nano_14_1stWE_hCWC

Cumulative wordcount per hour

nano14_final2nd

And after this, I’m off to put my hands in cold water. Maybe I should just do the dishes…

houritsu_pic

I’ll talk about the story another day, too.

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2014: Houritsu

  1. Alexis November 3, 2014 at 04:12

    wow, you are amazing! o.0 *hugs and hands massages*

    • Sakaki Delijah November 3, 2014 at 23:49

      Thank you ♥ I know it’s not the best thing I have ever written and that it needs lots of work… but the idea is down on paper, so to speak and I am kind of proud of it….