Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Watch me having an ‘aha’ moment

For a long time I have struggled with a story and a set of characters which eventually took the name of Shourai (meaning `Prospect’ or ‘Future’). For many who know me, ‘the bunny’ has been a recurring character in conversation and writing.

bunny‘The bunny’ is Iwase Tadashi, a 19 year old Japanese boy who moves into the big city to attend university. Originally he was a side character from my harder fanfiction times, but for some reason I developed a huge soft spot for him, and he started taking a central part in the stories I was writing. Eventually – as I was drifting away from that fandom in particular – I decided that I liked him too much to let go.

Thus I tried to rewrite him and his verse. Four times. I may have discarded around 100,000 words on failed attempts to rebuild that universe from scratch. People changed names, degree of importance, appearances, and sometimes sexual orientation (hello Haru, I mean Heizo…)

I think the problem I have writing Shourai is that everything is clear in my head, but at the same time, it is fuzzy. I know what happened in that verse, but it is vague. I know certain things which are very clear in my mind, but those are scenes, lost in their daily lives all through three years. That is what makes hard actually writing the story out.

This year, I had half a mind on working on Shourai for NaNoWriMo 2014, but in the end I went with Hoursitsu because a) it feels like NaNo is kinda yakuza territory b) I felt that I would be getting very stuck in Shourai and thus it would not be a good NaNoproject and a) I would have to ‘rebel up’ and work on an already-finished story.

Then I went and did something crazy, and finished Houritsu in a weekend. Yeah. Talk about sanity being gone. I was poked about continuing writing but what to do? There was still Sourai there, waiting, and a bit on the stuck area halfway through Tadashi’s first university year…

I had another crazy idea – start a new ‘school year’ with another ‘book’, and make Shourai semi-officially a universe. Thus, the first year would be ‘Build up’, stuck as it was, and I would start with the second year, ‘Crisis’.

shouraikanji During the first year, Tadashi gets to know Tokyo and those around him. His relationships develop in the friendship and love territories, and we get to know most of the characters that will be important later on. I was stuck at the end of summer, and I still needed to get to March… So I let that one stuck and moved on the first actual conflict that I had in mind – Tadashi’s first lover’s fight with his boyfriend Asou Shota. A number of misunderstandings lead up to a huge crisis and the two young men have to deal with it.

Yesterday I reached the conclusion of that crisis, and that felt… like an ending. That was the problem I had in the first part, which caused me to be stuck…

So I took a page out the philosopher Didactylos’ book and used his alternative hypothesis: ‘what the hell?’. It is an ending. The conflict in the book was presented, developed, and resolved. So it is a story in its own, inside a bigger scheme. Actually, both of them are. Thus I made a new re-structuring. Not three books, but six. I have the first one – the build-up – and the third one – the first crisis. Two completed stories. I need to fill up the second one, and I already have a few ideas about what has to be placed in the fourth one, and suddenly it all makes sense.

Yes, there has been a lot of work in this universe that has been discarded but finally I feel that I am getting somewhere.

2 responses to “Watch me having an ‘aha’ moment

  1. Phaustho December 16, 2014 at 15:37

    So that’s what you’ve been doing intensively after you won NaNoWriMo this year. It sounds really interesting, you totally caught me!

    I’ll stay tuned 🙂

    • Sakaki Delijah December 16, 2014 at 16:51

      Haha! After three years of writing and rewriting the first few months in this story’s timeline, I decided to grab the bull by the horns and write the second part… which turned out to be he third one… but gave the story a good push forward 😉