Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Closing balance 2014

Well, weren’t you glad to have skipped my yearly end of the year review spam? Tough luck, here I am again. It’s 2015 and nothing has seemed to have changed that much, my health is still quivery, my Internet is wavy and I am having a look at the progress of the previous 12 months. Let’s see what happened writing wise in 2014:

2014_year

New words this year round up to 306,822 words. The clear winner with more words is Shourai, at roughly 67,000 words. The clear loser is Secrets as it is the only one which has remained unfinished, and actually got around 5,000 words cut out from it. I really hope I get around to finishing it this year, or at least fix it somewhat.

Roughly 60,000 words were annexed to the Hyakki Yagyō universe, most of it in the Last Yōkai War of Edo, but a good chunk of it in short stories and add-ons to the main project.

Summarising, the projects I worked on during 2014 were:

 
 
Graphically:
2014_graph_pie

Process-wise, I did not write every day, and I took some serious vacations when I was in Japan in August, except for blogging about my adventures over there. The best month was (much surprise) November, as I pulled the whole Houritsu stunt (you can see the unscaled graph in a small window superimposed to the readable chart) and then worked on Shourai for the rest of the month (happy belated birthday, Tadashi, by the way!). The worst months, motivation-wise were March and April. I have not been on a serious 500 words per day streak, but still managed some consistency.

2014_graph_col

I have also done a bit of editing in the last couple of months this year (especially the 30th and 31st of December because of… reasons). Projects that have been polished include:

 
2015_sheep

Now, what’s the plan for 2015? I am not completely sure, but it involves quite some more editing, mainly on the Hyakki Yagyō universe, along with finishing off the tiers and connecting short stories. Hopefully finishing the first draft of the last of the Osaka Shikigami books so I can start working on it as a whole, too. And with any luck, finishing Secrets.

2 responses to “Closing balance 2014

  1. Denise January 3, 2015 at 14:47

    You have such a nice pie-chart!
    Omedetou for a great 2014 and while you sound reserved now I think you’ll kick behind in 2015 too. I’ll cheer and support where I can.