Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

NaNoFinish 2015

I finished NaNoWrimo 2015 this morning. That’s it, I reached 50000 words, after a very frustrating hours of blackouts and outages because my neighbours suck. This year I had decided to push Shourai through, after changing my mind from what I told you here. Once again I have decided to work on it as a whole item, and as an open project is not “nanorebeling” any more, well, I tried to push it forward in the part that I’ve given the working title of “Phoenix”.

In preparation, I summarised and organised everything I had written – in a bunch of different files – and made a rough timeline, with “one-liners”, very short descriptions of what had happened in every scene / chapter, and colour-coded them. I chose a part to develop linearly within NaNo and ended up with about 9 pages of handwritten notes on an A5 notebook, developing those one-liners…

I’ve done two pages of that, and to make it even worse, out of order, because when I was planning I really felt like I wanted to write one of the scenes towards the end. Thus I decided that I would push that one, and then go to the beginning and develop from one point to the other. Let me show you how well that worked:

shourai_oneliners2
Codes:

  • Yellow – pasted in the file, unconnected, needs to be tied in.
  • Light green – written in main file, and working
  • Red – to be written
  • Orange – to be rewritten / paid attention to
  • Purple – to be considered?
  • Bright blue (left) – planned for Nano’15
  • Dark green (right) – written Nano’15

 

 

 
Fine, the last ‘light green’ is about 45,000 all on its own but… seriously? That blind-sided even me, I’d really hoped to have at least dented the planning before reaching 50000 this November. All in all, Shourai has around 172000 words.

Regarding the writing progress: I had wanted to reach 40000 on the first as it was a Sunday and a free day. Saturday sucked though, with a car accident included and that kind of hampered my concentration – I guess I’ll have to try again some other time. This year around I’ve been documenting the writing progress per half-hour (aprox.)

nano_15_win_graph

Finally, here’s a screenshot of the ‘finishing line’, typos and all. For kicks and giggles, let me tell you that ‘in’ is not the 50000th word any more as I added more stuff:

nano_15_win_file

2 responses to “NaNoFinish 2015

  1. Alexis November 5, 2015 at 08:27

    Wow, congrats!!