Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Shourai Writing during NaNo [December 1, 2015]

NaNo-2015-Winner-Badge-Large-Square This that time of the year when I usually decide that this was my last NaNoWriMo because I’m usually in the creative slump after the month. This year however has been a bit different from usual.

For starters, I did not create a project from scratch. This gave me a sense of familiarity with the story I don’t usually carry – let’s ignore how last year I worked on Shourai after finishing Houritsu, too. That was not planned, not originally, so it was hard. This time I really wanted to give Shourai a push, because it has been stuck forever and a day. I am not completely sure that worked, judge yourself. The left side of the picture shows the original timeline, with what was planned for NaNo marked in bright blue, and what was actually done for NaNo in dark green to the sides of the column. Generally, red means not written, yellow means “written fragment, unconnected”, orange has to be redone, and light green means done. Purple is “whoooops I forgot that this should have happened, do I insert here or do I flashback to it later?”

nano15_shourai_done

As you can see, the right column, which shows what is currently done, shows some more light green. Still not enough, I’d say, and some more has to be added to the timeline in order to reach the ending. Because for the first time I have an ending in sight.
Let’s talk Shourai numbers:

  • Written this NaNo: 150,009 words
    • Average NaNo Daily wordcount: 5167 words
    • Best NaNo Day: November 1st (Sunday): 33,001 words
    • Worst NaNo Day: November 25 (Wednesday): 2,284 words
  • Written this year: 170,209 words
  • Current total: 278,171 words
  • Number of chapters: 84

This year I took upon myself the challenge of documenting the writing process, so I ended up with tables and writing time graphs:

nano15_1201_calendars_table

nano15_1201_calendars_graph

I should do some numbers (or ask someone to do numbers for me xD), because maybe they tell me interesting stuff. Who knows. For now let me show you graphs:

Here’s what I did compared to the NaNo daily count:

nano15_1201_daily_comparison_theoretical

And here is what I did this year compared to the previous years. Notice how last year’s count was ridiculously straight XD The graph shows the cumulated daily wordcount for each day, every year in a different colour.

nano15_1201_comparison_peryear

But I have more graphs! Here you can compare how much I wrote each day for every NaNo I have attempted, including zeroes because I am honest:
nano15_1201_comparison_daily

Something I’ve noticed was that apparently I… fluctuate during NaNo, daily wordcount wise. The following graph shows the daily wordcount, stacked yearly, one on top of the other (so total wordcount for November 1st, 2nd, etc…). As this is my seventh NaNo, there should not be a deviation regarding the day of the week, and yet, the results are confusing. I’m open to theories, what do you think? What bites me on day 20?

nano15_1201_comparisons_daily_cumulative

What have I learnt this NaNo? That if I want to aim for high wordcounts, I need to stories to work on. Or at least different points of the story to work on? Switching back and forth in Shourai, as well as adding the flashbacks has worked, but at some points I have lost drive, which was not the best way to work around.

The Timeline + Planning scheme, worked really well though. This means I had the timeline as I have shown you, and a notebook with a description of everything that had to happen, which basically translates into bad grammar, arrows instead of verbs, bizarre and obscure colour-coding, asterisks and other strange symbols. I think I’ll adopt it when I tackle working on the Shikigami verse again, which I hope is summer 2016.

Thus, 2015 was a good, productive NaNo. I gave Shourai a good push and even though I felt like stopping a couple of times, I managed to go through. I considered a new story when I was on day 15th, but I know that I need to push towards finishing the three big verses I have open – never mind that I am starting a short story today. That is a short story. Under 5000 words, because the rules say so 😉

Also, I need coffee, apparently. So please excuse any grammar horrors you might encounter in this post.

Comments are closed.