Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

The Last Yōkai War of Edo – Final First Draft

Back in 2014 I gave in to the plotbunnies and started working on the wrapping of the Hyakki Yagyō universe, or what at that moment I thought it would be – the Last Yōkai War of Edo. Apparently, it is one of those things that runs out of control. At that point, the story added up to roughly 40,000 words. Looking at it, it was clear how I had barely written the skeleton of a story – character development was next to inexistent, the main character just switched from trainee to well-trained in a chapter, without any real progression. The antagonist / villain was bad just because and had no motivation whatsoever. I knew that such a thing needed to be worked on, and the story told in a coherent way.

I’ve been doing so for a few months now. And thus the 40,000 have turned into 100,000. Around 10,000 of those had been written in snippets throughout a year or so, things that I wanted in but I had not really woven in.

So I put all them in a file and started working. The first thing was finding a good timeline, one that worked according to the development of the main character’s power and reactions. Then I had to work through the story to get from A to B, to C and then towards the end as I had first imagined it.

I had really not thought that I would be doing so many changes. About 20,000 words were completely retold – not an edit, a complete rewrite of the same events. On top of that, about 10,000 words of the finale were scratched out and re-done. As in the finale now has the same players but the events unfold in a completely different way. It was strange, reworking some parts like that.

All in all, the first go gave me a story skeleton, and this second run a first draft that more or less makes sense. Now I will let it rest for a while before I tackle an actual edit – and not a re-writing!

As I like working with track changes, I can show you how most of the document looked towards the end of edit. I’m shaking just thinking about how it might end up as… So yes, I have a “final first draft”, a complete story that now requires polishing!

edo_rewrite

Comments are closed.