Writing Echoes

Delijah's Writing Blog

Milestone

Although this is a little bit of cheating, yesterday I wrote ~end~ on the last page of Shourai. Why is this cheating? Because about three chapters around the middle are unwritten and as many need to be completed. And I’m also ignoring the fact that there is a chapter that is three times longer than it should be, and another about twice.

But I wrote ~end~ and it felt good because in a way it brings the story I wanted to tell to a closure. To bulk figure, we are talking about… ah, scratch about, I’ll copy paste the figure from the tracking spreadsheet (have I ever mentioned about my OCD? No? Ooookay.)

At the moment, counting “end”, there are 319,938 words on version 6. That does not count the original development nor the five previous versions that have been scratched and rewritten. Part of the problem, I’ve always thought, was that it was not clear to me where to end the story, so it kept stretching and twisting to infinity and back. But while it is not done yet, it is finished. It has found the moment that I can stop, and that is a relief. To be honest, it’s a strange feeling.

It is finished, but not done. I know I’ve written it before, but it feels the right way to put it: I know that it will not scratch into infinity anymore, there is an ending now. I know where the story goes and now I only have to smooth the path to get there. It has become significantly easier to write some points of view, but at the same time, it’s more difficult to write in so many different points at the same time, without killing consistency. I think I have the same “revelation” in three different chapters now, but that is part of editing. I’ve built a story and that is good. It feels good.

On the other hand, it’s hard, as I have mentioned, to keep up. It is a very long and complicated story, so there are many angles to take into account, especially when moving around different time spots. The characters evolve and change throughout the story (yay) so they don’t react in the same way to the same stimuli and situations. This is specially true about Shota, whose personality shifts most dramatically.

That’s it. I wrote “end” and it feels good, but at the same time, I kinda feel “urgh, so much work left”.

4 responses to “Milestone

  1. Phaustho October 6, 2016 at 22:55

    Checking a 300,000-word manuscript with “the end” on the final page must feel soooo good. I understand exactly where you’re standing right now, although my story is 240.000 shorter… but the situation feels like a clon of my own.

    Keep up the good work! 😀

    • Sakaki Delijah October 9, 2016 at 10:09

      The only problem is the blaring whole of unwritten red in the middle hahaha ;D
      And I guess that each story needs its own amount of words, this spans three years + an epilogue set 10 years later, so it might’ve been doomed to be long from the start….

      • Phaustho October 9, 2016 at 20:39

        Now that I think about it, you’ve been talking about this project for a long while now… Are we ever, ever (at least) going to see any of it, anywhere? At lest something more than a paragraph or two, like what you’ve shown a couple of times on past entries?